pull up a chair

As you pull up a chair to read this… guess what? This post is about a chair! (hehe) But not just any chair. Are you on the edge of your seat? (I’m here all week….try the veal!)

Knowing I was going to be out of work soon,  I set-up a sewing room/studio/office that I could move into once the big day came. I went totally shabby chic and it is still a work in progress. (Darling Husband has a shelf to hang for my teapot collection and I need to paint my vintage brass chandelier and hang it – that’s another blog post) But what was I supposed to sit on? I couldn’t put an ugly office chair in that pretty room. And an over-the-top French Provencal chair wouldn’t be practical. So, I looked around the house for something that I could “re-do” and sure enough – I found something.

I bought this chair at a garage sale wayyy back when I didn’t know shabby chic was a “thing”. I liked it because it was white and adorable and would suit my daughter’s room just perfectly at the time. It was covered with a sort of vinyl – that you might find on outdoor furniture. Good for little kids – wiped up and washed off easily. She grew up and flew the nest. I decided to re-cover it.

Now, don’t think I know *anything* about re-covering furniture, because I don’t. I have never done it. But I am industrious. So…. I dug out some pretty fabric my Mother bought me, armed myself with a staple gun, hot glue gun and some attractive rivets. I took the seat and the back off, recovered them, with some thick quilt batting for comfort and VOILA! My new shabby chic sewing room/studio/office chair. (I really need to come up with a good name for that room.)

I wish I had *before* pictures, but I wasn’t thinking I would be blogging this when I started out with this project.

IMG_9889

 

I used two pieces of fabric for the back. I wrapped the front and hot-glued it in place around the back. I then took another piece of the floral fabric and cut a piece for the backing, folding the edges under like a seam and staple-gunned it down. I used pretty rivets all the way around to cover the staples. It was a bit tricky to attach back onto the chair frame. (gravity, grrr)

 

IMG_9891

IMG_9893

 

The seat was quite simple. The pattern of the fabric was forgiving (didn’t need to line anything up) so I just hot-glued the quilt batting to the seat, covered it with fabric and hot-glued in a few places to keep it down. I then used a simple fabric to act as a nice finishing piece underneath and staple-gunned it over top of the edge of the floral fabric, using the same “hem” method as the back piece of the chair above. Gives it a nice, tidy edge.

IMG_9892

IMG_9894

 

And here it is, as it sits right now, in my sewing room/studio/office while I write this. (As you can also see, I must add “hanging the blind” to Darling Husband’s Honey-Do List…)

 

shabbychair

It was a fun project and for those of you who like to finish something the same day you start it, this is the perfect thing!

Until next time! Thanks for visiting :o)

*i n t e r e s t i n g   f a c t*

“One of the earliest innovators of the modern office chair was Charles Darwin who added wheels to his chair so that he could get to his specimens quickly while in his study.”

http://www.desksinc-ut.com/fun-furniture-facts.php

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Christine Perrin

     /  July 1, 2013

    Love the chair, love the yellow! It really suits your sewing room/studio/office.
    Oh, and I think you should tackle hanging the blinds and let us know how it goes hehehe!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Squirrel Picnic

Handmade with Love and Stuff

craftyOgo

Unusual Gift Ideas with beads and yarn

Lisa in Port Hope

Quilting, sewing, and fun about town

Life takes a turn

My life is upside down, but I can still sew straight

simplydaisies

Simply living this rollercoaster of life!

Granny's adventures and musings

Sharing my life and thoughts with you

The Bright Blooms

Dressmaking and living colourfully in London

Ruthie quilts! And quilts...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Off The Hook Crochets

Beautiful Handmade Crochet Products

i'llshootyou

Hi. Call me Diana.

Style Wise

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees