sea change

Hi there! Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m Paula. I live in Edmonton, the capital city of Alberta in Western Canada. I have been quite busy these last two weeks setting up my new “identity” online with an Etsy Shop, this blog and all the social media that follows (and GETS followed #fingerscrossed). I am getting the lay of the land and am super excited to begin sharing with you.

There has been a sea change in my life. After eleven years at my job – and never being out of work  since my last maternity leave 16 years ago, I was recently laid off. I knew it was coming and did all I could to prepare. A few interviews here and there, but no bites. I am a very creative soul. I thought a lot about people complimenting me on my hobbies over the years and telling me how talented I am, and knowing that when I do those creative things it brings me peace and happiness….maybe I could try and sell some of my work…. My Etsy shop is setup and now I have to populate it with charming things to sell.

My goal with this blog is to share with you some of the projects I have on the go – which is always something all of the time and quite varied. I love to crochet, quilt, sew, paint and other crafty stuff. I really love photography, which will be a good tool for me to use to share projects with you.

I encourage you to interact; comment; let me know what you are working on, etc. Let’s share – I would love for this blog to be a nice back-and-forth with good folk like you and if we can inspire each other, we have made the world a better place. I look forward to getting to know you and sharing more about myself along the way.

Here is a sample of my work. This is my amazing daughter, Sam, who is wearing a scarf I made for her a few months back when the Canadian Winter was still hanging on… It is crocheted with sunflower yellow and multi-sized red buttons.

397478_10152470819480424_46865527_n

Thanks for visiting and I hope we can inspire together!

See you next time!

xo Paula

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Good luck with your new ventures. Your cowl looks lovely. I have one with buttons and i love that they clink together

    Reply
    • Thanks! I made one for myself, too. It’s cream with wooden buttons. Amazing how colour can totally change the look of something. Thanks for visiting! Hope you’ll be back soon :o)

      Reply
  2. Christine Perrin

     /  June 29, 2013

    Ummm this might be a silly question but is your Etsy Shop (love the name) online? If so, how do I visit it?

    Reply
  3. handmade, vintage, boho, upcycled…..yes, i think i’d like to follow your blog. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Patricia Perram

     /  November 16, 2013

    Wow that was very interesting, I never thought that old quilt would make the news. Good on you.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Squirrel Picnic

Handmade with Love and Stuff

craftyOgo

Unusual Gift Ideas with beads and yarn

Lisa in Port Hope

Quilting, sewing, and fun about town

Life takes a turn

My life is upside down, but I can still sew straight

simplydaisies

Simply living this rollercoaster of life!

Granny's adventures and musings

Sharing my life and thoughts with you

The Bright Blooms

Dressmaking and living colourfully in London

Ruthie quilts! And quilts...

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Off The Hook Crochets

Beautiful Handmade Crochet Products

i'llshootyou

Hi. Call me Diana.

Style Wise

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees